Month: October 2013

Vice President (Health)

The President & Rector has appointed Professor Dermot Kelleher as his Vice President (Health).  Prof Kelleher will remain Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, reporting to the Provost in this capacity.

This appointment as Vice President (Health) reflects the requirements for Professor Kelleher to assist the President by representing him and the College in key strategic partnerships in the medical/health sector, both in the UK and internationally.

Director of the Graduate School

Professor Susan Gibson has accepted appointment as Director of the Graduate School for a period of five years, with effect from 1 November 2013, reporting to Professor Debra Humphris, Vice-Provost (Education). She will divide her time equally between her new role and her continuing position as a Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry.

Professor Gibson first joined the College from the University of Warwick in 1990 as a Lecturer and was promoted to Reader in 1995.  In 1998 she moved to King’s College London as Daniell Professor of Chemistry, returning to Imperial in 2003 as Professor of Chemistry.  Her research interests lie at the border between organic synthesis and transition metal chemistry.  In 2003, Professor Gibson received the inaugural Rosalind Franklin Award of the Royal Society and in 2013 she was appointed OBE for services to Chemistry and science education.

Academic Registrar

Mr Dean Pateman has accepted appointment as Academic Registrar with effect from 1 January 2014.  Until that date, Ms Lorna Richardson will continue in post as Acting Academic Registrar.  He will report to the College Secretary & Registrar.

Mr Pateman joins Imperial College from Birkbeck, University of London.  Mr Pateman has been at Birkbeck since 2005, and Academic Registrar there since 2008. Prior to that, he was Director of Operations at UCL Eastman Dental Institute.