Month: December 2014

Appointments in Business School

Professor Nelson Phillips, currently Chair in Strategy and Organisational Behaviour, has accepted appointment as Associate Dean of Faculty and Research of Imperial College Business School for three years, with effect from 17 November 2014. He succeeds Professor Gerry George, who is leaving the School to become Dean of the Lee Kong Chian School of Business at Singapore Management University from 1 January 2015.

Professor Phillips was the Group Head of Organisation and Management at Imperial from 2005 to 2012. Prior to joining the College, Professor Phillips was the Beckwith Professor of Management Studies at Cambridge University’s Judge Business School from 2002 to 2005 and was an Associate Professor in the Strategy and Organisation Area at McGill University in Montreal, Canada from 1993 to 2002.

The Business School’s Groups have become Departments. To reflect this change, three Heads of Department have been appointed.

Professor Richard Green, currently the Alan and Sabine Howard Professor of Sustainable Energy Business, has accepted appointment as Head of the Department of Management. He was appointed as Management Group Head in January 2013 for a three-year term. He was previously Professor of Energy Economics and Director of the Institute for Energy Research and Policy at the University of Birmingham, and Professor of Economics at the University of Hull. He started his career at the Department of Applied Economics and Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge.

Professor Alex Michaelides, currently Professor of Finance, has accepted appointment as Head of the Department of Finance. He was appointed as Head of the Finance Department in October 2014 for a three-year term. He is Research Fellow at CEPR (International Macroeconomics and Financial Economics Programmes), at CFS (Frankfurt) and NETSPAR (The Netherlands). He was previously a lecturer (2001-2006) and associate professor (2006-2010) at the Department of Economics, London School of Economics, and a professor of finance at the Department of Public and Business Administration, University of Cyprus in 2010-2014. 2014/15 – 07 Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine

Professor Mike Wright, currently Professor of Entrepreneurship, has accepted appointment as Head of the Department of Innovation & Entrepreneurship. He became Innovation & Entrepreneurship Group Head in March 2013 for a three-year term. He is Director of the Centre for Management Buy-out Research, the first centre to be established devoted to the study of private equity and buyouts, which was founded in 1986 at the Nottingham University Business School. Previously he was Professor of Financial Studies at Nottingham University Business School since 1989.

John Neilson

College Secretary & Registrar

Vice President (Health)

The post of Vice President (Health) will be elevated to a College-wide role and will become the sole focus of Professor Dermot Kelleher FMedSci, who currently also serves as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine.

Professor Kelleher’s new remit as Vice President (Health) will be to support and grow the multidisciplinary approach to improving health across all of the College’s academic disciplines, and to develop strong external support and relationships for these efforts, with both international and domestic institutions. He will engage with healthcare partners in identifying new models of health care with particular emphasis on using data sciences in new and innovative ways. He will report directly to the President and will become a member of the Executive Group of the President’s Board.

As a result of the elevated role of Vice President (Health), a new Dean of the Faculty of Medicine will be appointed to lead the Faculty’s management and academic processes. The Dean shall report to Imperial’s Provost, Professor James Stirling CBE FRS, and will join the President’s Board, the Provost’s Board and the College Council. The changes will become effective upon the appointment of the new Dean.


John Neilson
College Secretary & Registrar