Month: July 2016

Heads of Department Faculty of Natural Sciences


Professor Anne Dell CBE FRS FMedSci has accepted appointment as Head of the Department of Life Sciences with effect from 1 January 2017, for a period of 5 years.

Professor Dell joined the College in 1975 as a Postdoctoral Research Assistant, and was appointed Professor of Carbohydrate Biochemistry in 1991. She was Head of the then Biochemistry Department from 1999-2001, and is currently Director of Undergraduate Studies for Biochemistry/Biotechnology in the Department of Life Sciences.

Professor Dell’s research focuses on the exploitation of mass spectrometry in glycobiology, in particular addressing the roles that glycans play in health and disease. She was elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society in 2002 and was awarded a CBE in recognition of her services to science in 2009.


Professor Richard Craster has accepted an extension to his appointment as Head of the Department of Mathematics for a further year, until 30 September 2017.
Professor Craster was first appointed Head of the Department of Mathematics in 2011. His research focuses on the fluid mechanics of thin films and waves in microstructured elastic or electromagnetic media.

John Neilson
College Secretary & Registrar