Experimental Medicine | Key achievements for 2018

Professor Xiaodong Zhang
Professor Xiaodong Zhang

We asked each Division in the Department to share with us their key achievements as part of our end of year roundup. Here are the contributions from Experimental Medicine. Well done everyone!

Notable awards

  • The Haemostasis Lab (Drs Jim Crawley, Josefin Ahnstroem, Rens de Groot and Isabelle Salles-Crawley) were collectively awarded £2m in BHF funding in April this year.
  • Professor Anastasios Karadimitris received £250k funding from the Excellence Fund for Frontier Research (EFFR) to investigate engineering specialised immune cells to induce a potential cure for HIV infection.
  • Professor Karadimitris also received a £124k award from the Imperial BRC.
  • Dr Richard Kelwick was awarded a Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) Enterprise Fellowship
  • Professor Lan Zhao obtained a £165k BHF project grant
  • Professor Dale Wigley successfully renewed his Wellcome Trust Investigator Award.
  • Dr Nichola Cooper was awarded a £50k Imperial College Healthcare Charity Research Fellowship Award
  • Professor Xiaodong Zhang was awarded a £2m Wellcome Trust Investigator Award, and a £1m BBSRC research grant.
  • Professor Paul Freemont was awarded £406k as part of a collaboration with the University of Cambridge.
  • Professor Freemont was also recognised for his leadership in synthetic biology at the Engineering Biology Awards, presented at the SynBioBETA Conference. 

Notable manuscripts and papers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *