Month: November 2022

Head of the Institute of Clinical Sciences and Director of the Medical Research Council London Institute of Medical Sciences

Professor Wiebke Arlt has accepted appointment as Head of the Institute of Clinical Sciences – one of the departments in Imperial’s Faculty of Medicine – and Clinical Chair in the Faculty of Medicine. Professor Arlt will also be the new Director of the Medical Research Council (MRC) London Institute of Medical Sciences (LMS). Professor Arlt will take up both posts on 1 January 2023.  

As Director of the MRC LMS, Professor Arlt will be responsible for delivering the LMS vision, providing strategic and scientific leadership to maintain existing and shape future excellence, including through the partnership with Imperial. 


Managing Director of Imperial College Union

Tom Newman has accepted appointment as Managing Director of Imperial’s students’ union, with effect from 1 October 2022.  

Reporting to the Board of Trustees, via the students’ union president and Chair of the Board, Tom will have overall responsibility for the performance, management, development and sustainability of the union. Working collaboratively with student leaders, he will lead the strategic planning process and take accountability for the delivery of organisational plans that advances the union’s long-term vision to provide the best possible student experience.  


Academic Leader for Sustainability

Professor Tim Green has accepted appointment as Academic Leader for Sustainability with effect from 1 November 2022, for an initial period of 5 years. He has initially taken up the role at 0.2 FTE, increasing to 0.5 FTE from 1 January 2023.  

Reporting to the Associate Provost (Estates Planning), in this part-time role Professor Green will be responsible for leading Imperial’s commitment to promoting sustainability across its campuses, engaging with senior leaders across the College to help facilitate appropriate and necessary practical and cultural change. This post combines a champion role for sustainability with responsibility for contributing to the development and embedding of the College’s operational sustainability objectives, as stated in the College’s Sustainability Strategy.